50.22. A Resilient Child. Meet Deandre.

image-4 (2)

Over the past several years I have been fortunate enough to meet some amazing kids.  While it may sound like an exaggeration, I have learned more from these kids in any single encounter than I did throughout my time in law school.  These kids are happy, resilient, and resourceful.  I look at these kids no different than my own.  I worry about the challenges they will face, I want to protect them from harm, and I hope they can achieve everything they want in life.  Even so, I oftentimes find myself learning from these kids.

Deandre is 10 years old.  He has been a part of our mentoring program for the past three years.  Deandre has experienced much in his young life.  Deandre has raised money so his slain brother could get buried.  Deandre has lost another sibling to gun violence.  Deandre is also sometimes singled out at school for no particular reason.  Most recently, a classmate through his backpack in the aisle while on the school bus.  Rather than punishing the bully, Deandre was barred from riding the bus for three days.  Rather than complain about the injustice, Deandre found other transportation to get to and from school.  Yesterday Deandre asked if I could give him a ride.

As I pulled up to Deandre’s house, he was waiting on the curb.  I asked Deandre what he wanted to eat and he looked at me with hesitation before asking, “Anything?” I quickly responded “Anything” to which he immediately shouted, “Burger King.”  As Deandre and I ate our Burger King, he mentioned how proud he was of his mom, who had recently started two new jobs.  He also told me that his girlfriend broke up with him during art class but it was okay because he had another girlfriend by the next class period.  Deandre also tells me that he hopes to get to play basketball this year but needs shoes and money to sign up.  I tell him not to worry about the cost.  Deandre then announces to me how he can now make a three pointer.

Deandre is no different than any other kid.  He has dreams.  He has favorite hobbies.  Deandre thinks certain school subjects are boring.  Deandre has just experienced and more importantly overcome much more than many kids his age.  I feel fortunate to call Deandre my friend as he truly has become a special young man.

Leave a comment